Home-Style Chinese Chicken And Corn Soup

 

DSC02280

GREAT BUDGET-FRIENDLY SOUP
$2.50 per serving

Let me just start by saying that when I was growing up in Jamaica as a small child and my Grandmother would cook soup I would cry. Oh, yes! Bawl my eyes out just to drink one spoonful of soup. I just did not like soup. I can’t write or talk about my Grandmother and not cry, she was my Angel on Earth. I miss her everyday. Anyway, I did not like soup until I became a teenager. I then realized how delicious her soup was and I have never stopped cooking my Grandmother’s Chicken Soup since then.

It is one of the most delicious Chicken Soups I have ever tasted.

So, this was and still is my most popular soup to make whenever I can. Especially around fall time, like now.

This Chicken and Corn Soup I have made this soup in  the past but honestly, I have not made this soup in over 15 years+ I went looking for some of my Chinese Cookbooks and found a recipe that uses ham in it.  Over the years, I ended up cooking my Grandmother’s Jamaican Chicken Soup more often than any other soup.

I am also quite aware that people do judge me. Oh, yeah. I am Jamaican yet, I am cooking and preparing dishes that are nothing close to been Jamaican. As the years went on my diet changed and I had to adapt and change to suit not only myself but the dietary needs of my two children. Yes, I was born in Jamaica but I got married to man whose background is Chinese. Most importantly, my Children are Canadian Kids they don’t like some of my Caribbean dishes—My daughter in particular do not fancy Jamaican Food. I also love cooking so much over the years that I absorbed all the information I could. I love different kinds of foods, Japanese, Chinese, Vietnamese, Filipino food,  Jamaican, Canadian Food, British Food, the list goes on Middle-Eastern Foods—Indian Cuisine. I love trying all sorts of food as long as it is edible and it won’t make me ill.

Since I am on a budget, I did not want to use ham at all. I was asking myself, “how did I not make this soup for such a long time?” I know the answer to that. I used to make the soup at the beginning when I first came to Canada I created many Chinese dishes due to the fact that I got married to a man whose background is Chinese and Portuguese. That made sense. Plus, I loved cooking Chinese dishes because they were quick and easy and most recipes called for using a large wok that I loved using anyway. All you have to do is just put everything in the wok and before you know it in less than 10-12 minutes you could have dinner ready. It would be fast and delicious but the Calories would add up.

 As time passed my diet did not permit me to keep cooking Chinese dishes frequently. Those who are familiar with Chinese food knows that many Chinese dishes are high in Calories and if you are not careful you could add on some significant amount of weight gain. Even though I am from the Caribbean I don’t cook Jamaican food frequently either. I will cook some Caribbean dishes and post it to the blog but not right now—At a later time in the future I will cook some Jamaican dishes. As you get older your dietary needs changes and you have to go with what your body is telling you to eat or what is best for you.

This Chicken and Corn Soup is delicious and I am quite sure once you do make it that you will also come to love it just as much as I do.

DSC02270

For the Stock

1 Pack of Chicken legs (10-12) or 2 Lbs.
1 teaspoon Pink Himalayan Sea Salt
7 Cups of Water
1Box of Low Sodium Vegetable Stock
2 Tbsp. All purpose Seasoning
8 Shallots (Chopped)
6 oz. of Ginger
1 Large Onion (Peeled and Chopped)
3 tsp. Sesame Oil

Instructions

Wash chicken and place in Large Stock Pot and fill with 7 Cups of water and your box of Vegetable Stock. Add all your ingredients: All purpose seasoning, shallots, ginger, Onion and salt and let cook for about 45-50 minutes. Then turn off heat and leave on stove for a good minutes you want the flavours of your stock to develop.

Remaining Ingredients:

2 Cans of whole kernel Corn
2 Cans of Cream Style Corn
1/2 Cup Cornstarch
4 egg whites
1 Cup of water
2 tsp. Black Pepper
2 Tbsp. Vegetable Stock Powder

Instructions

Take Chicken out of pot carefully, it will be falling off the bone by now. Then using your fingers or a fork if it too warm take the chicken off the bone and place in a bowl.
Now use 1/2 Cup of water and add it to your 1/2 Cup of Cornstarch in a small bowl or Tea Cup. Mix well with a fork until all the lumps have disappeared. Then using a long wooden spoon or metal spoon stir your cornstarch mixture into the soup. Stirring frequently until the soup starts to thicken.

Take your 4 eggs and separate your egg whites into a small bowl. Beat egg whites and your remaining 1/2 cup of water lightly with fork until it starts to foam. Drizzle egg whites slowly into your soup while stirring your soup vigorously. Add most of your cooked Chicken back into the Pot and leave about 2 cups of Chicken to serve with your soup.

Your Home-Style Chicken and Corn Soup is complete and oh so delicious!

DSC02268

Home-Style Chicken and Corn Soup

DSC02280

Alice Choo-Shee-Nam—Living In Durham Community Blog

Visit us on Facebook:
facebook_button

