Mango And Ginger Spiced Barbeque Ribs

 

DSC01804

Okay, let me start by saying I am not Vegetarian. I would say, I am 60-40 right now. I eat more Vegan Food now though than I did years ago. I have though in the past several years embraced the Vegan Lifestyle and Diet I have some really good Vegan Recipes that I create often at home.

Unfortunately, for me the Vegan Food is not going over so well for my children, I say that with a smile.

They will eat certain things but only for about 2 days. After that they start to get Edgy and seriously starts to complain about me cooking and feeding them Vegetarian food. So, what I like to do is whenever it’s near the weekend like it is today I give them a treat.

My 17 year Old daughter said to me “Mom finally I am having some real Food.”
So, I am calling this Melissa’s Ribs Smile

DSC01800

So, that is what I am up against. If my Grandmother was here she would say in her wise voice

“Everything in life takes time, patience is needed.”

I agree, everything takes time and patience. Will my children embrace the Vegan lifestyle when they get older? Maybe yes, maybe no. My hope is that they will grow up to become wise and healthy eaters. I did not have that kind of support when I was growing up especially when it comes to healthy eating.

So, my job as a Parent is to “Shine the light and lead them in the right direction” in the hopes that they will make responsible decisions about the foods they eat when they become adults.

Anyway, my kids are my “Harshest Critics” and they said the Ribs tasted awesome! They loved the Mango and Ginger Flavour. If, my children can remember anything about me, I want them to remember that I made them some delicious dishes they can enjoy.

INGREDIENTS:

2 Ripe Mangoes
1 Rack of Spare Ribs—9.9kg or approximately 2 1/2 pounds
6 ozs of freshly grated ginger
2 Tbs of Molasses
1 TBS of Apple Cider Vinegar
2 TBS Honey
2 TBS of All Purpose Seasoning
¼ Cup Organic Sugar
1 Cup of Ketchup
6 Bulbs of Fresh Crushed Garlic
1 Box of Vegetable Stock

 

COOKING INSTRUCTIONS:

1. Get a large Pot and add 6 Cups of water and your 3 cups of Can of Vegetable Stock and bring to boil on Medium to High heat. Add your ribs to the pot and let cook for about 20 mins.
2. Peel and chop your mango into medium cubes. You will be blending this in your blender with the other ingredients. Add your chopped mango to the blender, along with your  honey, apple cider vinegar, molasses, ginger, garlic, and 1/2 cup of Vegetable Stock and blend well. Take your Ribs out of the pot and pour only half of your blended Mango Sauce over your Ribs—Reserve the rest of the sauce for later. Add your Ketchup to the other remaining half of your mango sauce and stir. Cook your Ribs in a Preheated Oven at 410 degrees for 45 minutes on a Baking Tray or in a oven proof dish or large baking pan and Bake. Basting every 15 minutes with your Mango Ginger Spiced Sauce until your ribs are cooked and the meat is tender and moist.

TIP: Don’t use up all your Mango and Ginger Sauce

as well don’t forget to taste it—It tastes awesome! Almost like a drink. You will see, when you taste it. Use the rest of your sauce as a Dipping sauce for your Ribs or just to glaze your Ribs again once they come out the oven.

 After those 45 minutes turn the other side of your ribs over and pour about 1 Cup of your remaining sauce over the ribs. The Ketchup will give it that nice Reddish colour once it is cooked. Now, turn off your regular oven temperature and finish your ribs by “Caramelizing it” Under your Broiler Setting. Now, sprinkle your 1/4 cup of Organic Sugar over your ribs and let it Caramelized for about 7 minutes. IMPORTANT: You need to keep your eyes on it or it could burn really fast. 

Serve Ribs With

CHERRY TOMATO WHITE BEAN AND CORN BAKE HASH

DSC01779

 

4 Fresh Corns
1 packet of Cherry Tomatoes (551ml or 1/2 pound)
1 Can of White Kidney Beans
1/2 Tsp. Pink Himalayan Sea Salt
1 TBSP. Dried Oregano
2 TBSP. Olive Oil

Add your 2 TBSP of Olive Oil to your pan first then add your corn, beans and tomatoes. Along with your fresh herbs and salt. Cook in Preheated Oven at 410 degrees for about 30 minutes.

DSC01809

Bon Appétit!

Recipe Created September 9, 2016
