Peach and Ricotta Ginger Tart |Two ways

 

Alice Choo-Shee-Nam—Living In Durham Community Blog

PEACH-TART

 

SOUR GUMMY LAVA FROZEN YOGURT

DSC01407

I will eat  fresh mint with just about everything if you give me a chance…

DSC01401

 

 

DSC01325

 

RUSTIC PEACH AND RICOTTA CHEESE TART

DSC01341

Lattice  Style  Peach   Tart

 

DSC01349

Peach   And  Ricotta Ginger  Tart with Oat  Crumble  Topping and  fresh homemade Ricotta

 

 

DSC01373

 

 

 

DSC01405

Dulce   De  Leche   Drizzled on   Top

 

DSC01381

 

FOR YOUR NO-FAIL PASTRY DOUGH:

5 1/2 Cups of Flour
1 TBS of granulated Sugar
1 TSP. Salt
1 TSP. Baking Powder

1 Egg
1TBS Vinegar
3/4  of Cold water
1 Pack of Crisco

Combine flour, sugar, salt and baking powder in a large stainless steel bowl. Stir well to blend. Using a long wooden spoon cut the Crisco into the flour until it resembles coarse meal, then continue cutting the Crisco into the flour until it looks like fine breadcrumbs.

DSC01290

Yes, you will probably have some larger pieces left over just continue to cut into the flour until they get smaller.

FOR YOUR WET INGREDIENTS

Combine your water, egg, and vinegar in small bowl or in a measuring cup. Beat all this together until blended.

Now, add your liquid ingredients to your flour and Crisco mixture all at once using your wooden spoon blend it in until your flour and Crisco mixture begins to come together. Using your hand take some of that Pastry dough and make it into a ball (Don’t overwork the dough, handle gently ).

DSC01294

 

Then flatten the dough so that once it is chilled you will be able to easily roll this out like the picture indicates below:

DSC01302

 

GETTING READY TO ROLL OUT YOUR PIE DOUGH

DSC01313

I WROTE P-FOR PEACH IN THE FLOUR

Okay, there is a story behind my rolling pin that I wish to share with my readers. I was living in Toronto at the time and I was recently married. Yes, we are talking a good while back according to my calculations some 22 years ago. Yes, I feel ancient saying those numbers. Anyway, I loved baking since I was a small child growing up in the Caribbean. I started baking since I was 10 years old. So, I was at St. Lawrence Market in Toronto and I happen to come across this Rolling Pin. It caught my eye because of the brightly painted red handles. I enquired about the price and the vendor said $25. I was like “What?” I can’t pay $25 for this rolling pin, I then asked him why it was so expensive he said, “It was handmade” and that was his best price. I said okay and walked away.

I went touring the market and this rolling pin was on my mind the entire time.

I decided to purchase it despite the $25 asking price. I knew it would serve me well. I have used this rolling pin for the past 22 years plus and it is still going strong. I love it so much that whenever, I am moving I try to pack it first.

I don’t  really care about the clothes and the shoes or the handbag or anything else—Just my Rolling Pin.

If you look at the handles of the rolling pin you can see the wear and tear on it having used it over the years.

DSC01314


Whenever I am baking in the Kitchen my 11 year old son Richard likes to hang out in there and play with the left-over Pie dough and ask me a bunch of questions. I am always happy to answer them. My 17 year old daughter is not has enthusiastic about baking with me all the time—It’s a teenager thing. I used to be like that when I was her age. My Grandmother would always want me in the kitchen and there were times I was not interested in been there. That’s okay though. Everyone who have more than one child knows that both children are never alike. One of them will be interested in what you are doing and the other will not be. You try your best to let all the children absorb all the information you give them but you will always find one child more interested than the other.

DSC01315

My loving and dear Grandmother taught me everything about the Kitchen.

How to cook everything there is to know about Jamaican food. Yes, everything. From cooking the basics of making Coconut run-down to Jerk Chicken, Jerk Pork, Escovitch Fish, Rice and Peas, Ackee and Salt fish Bammi, Cassava Pone, Jamaican Sweet Potato Pie—Which happens to be a Secret Recipe that was passed down from my Grandmother. I learnt what I could from her and then when I arrive in Canada, I absorbed everything like a sponge. Anything that pertains to different cuisines, from Canadian Dishes to European and Asian Dishes, I was curious and wanted to try everything. I absorbed anything to do with baking of course since that was my first passion and still is. I love the different Ethnic Foods and the interesting way everyone tries to make the recipes their own.

DSC01320

Your  Peach   And  Ricotta Ginger  Tart

will taste so delicious you will want to make this all the time especially on those special occasions.

 

FOR YOUR TART FILLING:

DSC01187

Fresh Peaches

9 Peaches
( washed, peeled and sliced in to little quarters)
1 TBSP of Cinnamon
1/4 Cup of Organic Sugar ( I like baking with Organic Sugar because it gives you a lighter taste to your Pies or Tarts and not overly sweet like brown sugar)
1TBSP of freshly grated ginger

Stir all this together in a medium size bowl.

DSC01310

 
Then start to fill your 8 Inch Tart Shell. I purchased my tart shells several years ago but if you don’t have any—Don’t sweat it. Just bake in a regular Pie Dish. 

DSC01324

 

Add your Peaches then top it with 1/2 cup of Ricotta Cheese. Then you can cut out your Pie Dough to create the Lattice work as seen below or if you can’t be bothered just go plain and roll out a 9 inch Circular Pie dough and place it on top.

DSC01331

FOR YOUR OAT CRUMBLE TOPPING

1 1/2 Cups of Quick Cooking Oat

1/4 Cup of Butter

1/4 Cup of Organic Sugar

1/2 Cup of Fresh Homemade Ricotta Cheese

Using a fork mix together all the ingredients and then spread it on top.

 

DSC01350

Bake   Your   Tarts

In a Pre  Heated  375 degree  F  Oven  for 40 minutes


 

DSC01379

Add  Some  Sunshine  To   Your   Weekend  Baking This  Summer or   Anytime throughout  the   Year!

