The Annual Maple Festival Bowmanville-The City of Clarington |May 2016

Alice Choo-Shee-Nam-Living In Durham Community Blog
Saturday May 7, 2016

MAPLE FEST STREET VIEW3

The Annual Maple Festival in Bowmanville, Ontario brimming with curious and exciting visitors big and small from all ethnic groups.

MAPLE FEST STREET VIEW6

It’s the weekend and yes, today The Town of  Bowmanville had another Maple Festival that had a few newcomers to the Annual Festival. On a day like today, you would have found me at home getting some weekend chores done but not today.
My son Richard was not going to miss out on all the fun so I had to take him —Especially for the food and treats. My daughter decided to stay in—typical teenager. Usually when I get a chance to attend these local Festivals, I always try to find something I have never had before. I like finding those “Unique Producers” who get lost in the crowd of so many small business owners even though they work so hard and produce such wonderful and delicious products.

I found some delicious products at the Maple Festival and you can see them below.
These products featured below I purchased for my own personal use.

My Favourite Food Product Picks from the Maple Festival Saturday-May 7, 2016

20160507_141058
_________________________________________________________________
*Please note these products were purchased for my own personal use and my review or reviews for each product is base on my own opinions. In no way do I work for anyone of the companies featured nor am I in anyway affiliated with the companies or any endorsement from any company that would profit from my reviews of these products.

TAKE-A-BITE-OUT-OF-CLARINGTON6


My Favourite Picks from the Maple Festival Saturday-May 7, 2016:

1st Place! VOISIN’S MAPLE PRODUCTS
VOISIN MAPLE PRODUCTS LTD.

This product is absolutely delicious!

It has the right balance of spices and just the right touch of Lime in this very Unique flavoured Jelly. Tyson of Voisin’s Farm seen below was kind enough to let us try it. He let us try it with just a touch of cream cheese and it was fabulous. “Why do I feel this product is Unique and Interesting?” Well for starters, most if not all Spiced Jelly are considered Savoury items. Well, in this case Voisin’s Maple & Tequila Spicy Lime jelly can be eaten as a Dessert Item as well—In my opinion that is. When eaten with the Cream Cheese it adds a whole new dimension. I could see it been used in Chocolate Desserts, Cheesecakes, and other dessert items.

Products like Voisin’s Maple & Tequila Spicy Lime Jelly  that have Multiple uses that you can use to create savoury as well as sweet food products are in my opinion considered Unique and One of a Kind.

VOISIN'S MAPLE PRODUCTS5 

_______________________________________________________________

MAPLE & TEQUILA SPICY LIME JELLY

LIVING IN DURHAM TOP PRODUCT CHOICE AT THE ANNUAL MAPLE FESTIVAL!
VOISIN'S MAPLE PRODUCTS8
MAPLE & TEQUILA SPICY LIME JELLY
___________________________________________________________________________
MAPLE APRICOT HOT PEPPER JELLY

VOISIN'S MAPLE PRODUCTS9

__________________________________________________________
MAPLE GARLIC SAUCE

VOISIN'S MAPLE PRODUCTS11

VOISIN'S MAPLE PRODUCTS4

VOISIN'S MAPLE PRODUCTS7

2nd Place! ADD LOVE & STIR-ITALIAN BREAD DIP

ADD LOVE AND STIR-ITALIAN BREAD DIP

Okay. My readers are saying to themselves, “well I have heard that before—Add love and Stir or we do the other saying—we do everything with loveSame old Cliché. Well, I can say, that this little bottle of herb say’s:

LOVE—straight from the heart

ADD-LOVE AND STIR

I purchased this product approximately two years ago
(2 years) Yes, I know it seems so long ago to me too. I first found this

“Little Gem”

of a herb at a local Church Christmas Bazaar in Newcastle, Ontario and I remember saying to myself, “My gosh, if this lady could sell these on the internet or in stores she would do great.” I eventually used up all the herbs I had in the jar and was sad because I could not find her anymore. Plus, life for me got really busy and hectic. Low and below who did I see at the Festival today? No other than this wonderful lady and her “One of a Kind” herbs. I said to her, “I found you!” “I found you!” I told her how delicious her herb and spices were and she simply said, “Thank you so much.” She was smiling, her friend said “hurry up and use this it and call her to order more.”

ADD LOVE AND STIR

 

ADD LOVE AND STIR

Please do not be fool by this simple looking jar of Italian Bread Dip

 

Like your Grandma maybe thought you—looks are deceiving. Don’t judge a book by its’ Cover. I am so happy to share this “Unique little Product” with everyone. Such a simple looking package but the mixture of herbs and spices in this little jar is amazing. A little goes a long way. It says Italian Bread Dip but I use it on Chicken dishes, Salads, Sauces as well as Soup dishes.  Great product!
_________________________________________

3rd Place! VOISIN’S MAPLE BUTTER

 MAPLE-BUTTER

Runner-UPS

The JOY OF HARVEST-SCOTCH BONNET HOT PEPPER
THE JOY OF HARVEST-SCOTCH BONNET PEPPER

LIME KILN FARM
WILDFLOWER HONEY

WILDFLOWER-HONEY
__________________________________________________________________

New to the Maple Fest-Michael from Pefferlaw Creek Farms was very Happy and not shy at all to speak or have his picture taken by me. He was equally has enthusiastic about showing off is Unique and tasty Maple Syrup line of products.
PEFFERLAW CREEK FARMS2
See the rest of Michael Maple Syrup Products below

PEFFERLAW CREEK FARMS
(click link above to visit website)
PEFFERLAW CREEK FARMS3
I know, the sun kept coming out and disappearing all day but still a awesome day anyway.

PEFFERLAW CREEK FARMS5

PEFFERLAW CREEK FARMS6

I just love when I walked over to Michael He was poised and ready to have his picture taken not shy at all-It’s as if he knew I was coming-but that’s not possible because we have never met before—That’s Great though. I love finding unique products and interesting people at the festivals.

PEFFERLAW CREEK FARMS

His smile is genuine and sincere and that can go a long way when you are selling your products to customers. People know that you love what you do and will be willing to try your products and eventually purchase the products.

PEFFERLAW CREEK FARMS4
_________________________________________________________________

New to the Bowmanville Maple Fest-Fajitas

THE BEST FAJITAS4

 

THE BEST FAJITAS5

I Ordered the Chicken Fajita for my son Richard to try and he “Devoured it” it in just a few short minutes. I am smiling as I write this, my son is a real foodie.
THE BEST FAJITAS

The Chicken is moist, soft and juicy taste with just the right amount of sour cream and spices. The Fajita was large, filling was generous and overall the Fajita was easy to carry around. Basically just walk and eat at the same time.

My Son Richard getting ready to eat his Chicken Fajita

20160507_100717

My Son Richard having fun wearing his Fireman Hat after meeting with them at the Maple Festival.

20160507_103832

KANDY KABOBZ

KANDY KABOBZ

KANDY KABOBZ2

KANDY KABOBZ

CLARINGTON TOURISM

cCLARINGTON-TOURISM-OFFICE

The ladies from the Clarington Tourism Office giving out Tote bags and Fresh Apple Cider during the Maple Festival.

CLARINGTON-TOURISM-OFFICE3

 

CLARINGTON-TOURISM-OFFICE2

_________________________________________________________________

THE ANNUAL MAPLE FESTIVAL STREET VIEW AT JUST 10 AM IN THE MORNING.

 

In my opinion, I believe everyone was so happy that the Winter was over and was so happy to get out with the kids and enjoy the day.

MAPLE FEST STREET VIEW

MAPLE FEST BOWMANVILLE IN FERVOR PITCH AT 10 AM SATURDAY MAY 7, 2016

MAPLE FEST STREET VIEW2

 

MAPLE FEST STREET VIEW3

Father and Son taking a stroll through the Maple Fest

MAPLE FEST STREET VIEW5

MAPLE FEST STREET VIEW8

Lots of people were out despite the intermittent Sunshine.

MAPLE FEST STREET VIEW-SATURDAY-MAY 7-2016

BELLA FLEUR BOUTIQUE-FRENCH COUNTRY-OPENING SOON IN DOWNTOWN BOWMANVILLE

BELLA FLEUR BOUTIQUE2

Those are Cupcake Soaps from Bella Fleur Boutique

BELLA FLEUR BOUTIQUE

BELLA FLEUR BOUTIQUE

BELLA FLEUR BOUTIQUE3

GRANVILLE ANDERSON THE TOWN OF BOWMANVILLE MPP MEETING AND GREETING LOCAL RESIDENTS

GRANVILLE ANDERSON-THE MPP-FOR THE TOWN- OF BOWMANVILLE

GRANVILLE ANDERSON-THE MPP-FOR THE TOWN- OF BOWMANVILLE2

T-ZONE DOWNTOWN BOWMANVILLE

T-ZONE3
This is my Favourite place to shop for Tea. I love the Long Island Strawberry

T-ZONE6

TEAS, TEAS AND MORE TEAS.

T-ZONE4

T- ZONE DOWNTOWN BOWMANVILLE

T-ZONE

This lady was so warm and friendly and a pleasure to talk to. We were talking to each other like old friends. She have two wonderful children and her son was with her he’s 16 years old and his twin sister was not with him because she had to attend swimming practice for a upcoming competition.  Her Apple Strudel Squares were delicious.

STRUDELICIOUS!

STRUDELICIOUS

Unique to the festival
Apple Strudel Squares

STRUDELICIOUS2

PEPPER NORTH
PEPPER-NORTH

PEPPER-NORTH2

HENNA TATOOS

HENNA TATTOOS

LIME KILN FARM-MOORES’ MAPLE SYRUP AND HONEY

MOORES MAPLE SYRUP2

MOORES’ MAPLE SYRUP AND HONEY

MOORES MAPLE SYRUP AND HONEY

LIME KILN FARM-MOORES’ MAPLE SYRUP AND HONEY
MOTHER AND DAUGHTER TEAM.

MOORES MAPLE SYRUP

LIKOS HAWAIIAN BBQ

LIKOS

PHOTO ALBUM—Click to view.

